God and Marriage

God cares about marriage. He really does! As a matter of fact, He says in His Word that He views marriage as the best earthly illustration of the relationship that exists between Christ and the Church (Ephesians 5:22-33). That is certainly why He says elsewhere in His Word that He hates divorce (Malachi 2:16), as it destroys that picture at which the world is looking.

As I’ve counseled others during my 25+ years as a Pastor, a person who is contemplating divorce must face the fact that, when facing difficulties in marriage, each partner must acknowledge that he/she is saying one of four things about his/her own personal relationship with God in what he/she chooses to do in his/her situation.

(1) I love God and want to do what is pleasing to Him. I know that He hates divorce, so I am willing to do whatever it takes to maintain my marriage vows, made before Him. I will humble myself and ask for forgiveness where I have offended my spouse. I will grant forgiveness where my spouse has offended me. I am committed to my marriage and to my mate for life because I am committed to my God and to obedience to His Word. With God’s help, that is my vow.

(2) I love God and want to do what is pleasing to Him, but I just don’t think I can take any more of this marriage. I know God hates divorce, but I’ve tried everything I know to do, and it hasn’t worked. Surely God doesn’t want me to be miserable, does He?

(3) I don’t want God to be mad at me, but I’m out of here! I’m so unhappy, and I just need some relief. If God wants to discipline me for leaving my spouse, then I guess I’ll just have to take whatever He decides to dish out.

(4) I really couldn’t care less what God thinks about me or my marriage. I’m not even sure I believe in God any longer. I don’t deserve what I’m getting, and I’m not going to take it any more! I don’t want to be married to my spouse any longer.

Do you really think your marriage is beyond hope? Do you really think that God is unable to save it? Is His arm too short? (Jeremiah 32:17; Numbers 11:23) Put your trust in God. Commit your way to Him, and He will bring it to pass (Psalm 37:5). If your heart is loyal to Him, He will show Himself strong on your behalf (2 Chronicles 16:9).

Click here to watch a short video from Tiffany Arbuckle Lee (aka Plumb) about how God intervened to save her marriage from crumbling. Other videos of her testimony appear on the right side of this one.

Leave a comment